cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VERY SLOW CONNECTION of 1Gbps Fibre Broadband

Senior Commentator

Re: VERY SLOW CONNECTION of 1Gbps Fibre Broadband

Hi Phb

The Dlink 868L can provide transfer rates of up to 1300mbps on ac. I also use Samsung S5 and wifi speed is 100+ like yours. I'm a IT noob actually. Any idea why this is only a fraction of 1300? 

@Phb wrote:

To individuals who are having problems with slow speeds, frustrations etc... I will say that I understand your frustrations. Do try to look beyond your current sentiments and work to get your issues understood/resolved.

The steps to diagnose and identify which part of the link is having problems, have been posted many many times in this thread as well as other threads. I can only encourage you to try to understand, seek help, and hopefully learn.

My pictures below are from my hse, the point to make is this:

a. There WILL BE A MARKED difference between LAN cable and wifi. Always.

And it is for this reason why Starhub, in their greatest ability, not my personal best preferred, always asks to check the speeds at ONT, then Router, then Wifi.

2016 12 04 1735hrs ONT  HP LanCable SHub.jpgONT Box - Cable2016 12 04 1738hrs LanCable SHub.jpgRouter - LAN Cable2016 10 22 15012hrs HP Wifi.jpgWifi - Samsung S5 

Grand Guru

Hi  @Lausy

There is theory and in practical is not the same.

For 1Gbps, the acceptable speed is about 60% of the theory.

If you look at my previous post, the wireless between both same router 868L it show around 866Mbps as internal like home network, refer to picture.

Then what happened to those missing 400Mbps.

But using devices; such as; handset, laptop, tablet, etc.

There is a limit pre-set by the manufacturer.

The faster it go, the more expensive component is required.

In the end the consumer have to pay a high price, which is not feasible.

There is a handset which is at 450Mbps, but LTE-A is up to 300Mbps.