GreenR Community|The Community Run by You
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maxinfinity Disconnection Fee?

Honored Commentator

Maxinfinity Disconnection Fee?

I recently terminated my maxinfinity connetion after the contract got over and was surprised to see a fee of $30 being charged in my next bill under the heading Maxinfinity Disconnection. I have been using the service for 4 years.  When I recontracted 2 years back (and even the first time), only the penalty for terminating before 24 months was mentioned, I don't recollect the agent mentioning this fee. Can someone help me with this?

As a side note, in the same interaction, I opted for a cable broadband connection (immediately after terminating the fiber broadband). And guess what - I was charged a $50 Service Activation Fee for that! It seemed bizzare, as I thought I was keeping my internet connection but just switching over to cable mode! I have other services from Starhub and has been a customer for years but looks like they still want to make money out of me on every possible pretext.

Would really appreciate if someone can look into this.

3 REPLIES 3
Alumni (Retired)

Re: Maxinfinity Disconnection Fee?

Hi Mindex

Fibre and Cable services are managed by 2 different operators - Fibre by NetLink Trust and Cable by StarHub. Hence, disconnection fees will be payable when you terminate Fibre services. You can check out the terms at http://bit.ly/2qGlMh3 for more information.

Separately, as shared, both services are on different platforms. Hence, activation charges will be payable when you're activating a new cable broadband service. 

- Amy
Honored Commentator

@Amy_Law: Thanks for the explanation.