Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FOC Fibre broadband Home gateway

Highlighted
Senior Advisor

FOC Fibre broadband Home gateway

Hi

Anyone can advise, which is better choice to select for wireless fibre home gateway, Huawei 256 or Dlink 5402? after reading so many about the maxinfinity, seems like the speed isn't stable. wondering should I recontract from maxonline cable to maxinfinity fibre. Anyone can convince me that maxinfinity is still reliable? Thank you.

40 REPLIES 40
Highlighted
Hub Expert

Re: FOC Fibre broadband Home gateway

The Huawei is no longer available. May I suggest opting for Direct ONT instead, forgoing the gateway, taking the free 3000 points instead, and purchasing a router of your choice from a retailer of your choice?

My posts represent ONLY my own opinions.
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

Hi Varun,
Thanks for responding, do you have any recommendation brand /model for Direct ONT? I am new to this Fibre thingy and not sure how this Direct ONT goes about, hope you can explain in detail especially on installation. By the way if I were to get the Direct ONT do I still need a wireless router for my whole house? Thanks
Highlighted
Hub Expert

DreamerChin: DirectONT refers to the approach where you buy your own wifi router and plug it into the ONT (the ONT is a device that converts the optical fibre signal into an electrical network signal). The typical StarHub connection is currently like this:

fibre -> TP (termination point) -> ONT -> D-Link5402 RG (wifi, LAN ports, voice port)

Direct ONT goes like this:

fibre -> TP -> ONT -> wifi router (not the 5402). For voice, you'd use your existing voice-enabled cable modem plugged into a StarHub Cable point. If you already have a voice-enabled cable modem, you can avoid adding the 5402 and get 3000 rewards points instead, which you could use (for example) to set off your bill.

As an alternative, you can do this:

fibre -> TP -> ONT -> D-Link5402 RG -> wifi router