DONUSA's profile

Valued Commentator

• 

2 Messages

Fri, Jun 2, 2017 12:00 AM

NO SERVICE OVERSEAS

First time overseas with this SIM card.  I'm in the USA and I get NO SERVICE.  Tried rebooting iPhone.  Tried manually selecting each USA carrier.   Waited for hours still and NO SERVICE.  

Responses

SofiaYusof

Alumni (Retired)

• 

841 Messages

4 y ago

Hi @DONUSA, are you able to test your SIM card on another device to see if you're still experiencing the same issue? - Sofia

DONUSA

Valued Commentator

• 

2 Messages

4 y ago

Yes.  Problem has been resolved.  Turns out I need to sign up for one of the roaming services. Eve just for voice.   I am new to Starhub.  My previous provider had a default roaming service (voice and data) that applied no matter whether you signed up for one of their roaming services or not.  This way, anyone arriving in a foreign country would at least have a signal, then get a SMS message that roaming was on and options to select a plan or turn it off.  With Starhub, you need to have planned ahead and selected the plan you want or you get No Service.    

I prefer the other carriers method.  I don't want to be bothered with selecting a plan in advance.  The SIM should be smart enough to know it is in another country and give me options on the spot.  In may case I need to land and call my driver, but had now way to reach him.  Super inconvenient!  No pay phones around (rememeber those day).  I had to buy a local SIM at the airport to make just one call to the driver.  

SofiaYusof

Alumni (Retired)

• 

841 Messages

4 y ago

Thank you for the update and your feedack, @DONUSA. Rest assured that I'll share this with the relevant team. - Sofia

New Commentator

• 

1 Message

4 y ago

Hi,

after one week without issue, I now can't access any mobile network and have no service.

I absolutely need to get asap the connection to allow payments with double identification.

I've got two phone numbers with this issue: 8321 7915 and 8163 7195