StarHub
Ask a Question
  • #OnlySingapore Photo Contest Powered by HomeHub
  • Win a pair of tickets to Xinyao Reunion Concert
  • 4GforGood
  • Moleskine Notebook
  • TV Conetent Team
  • One Stop Shop
  • Win A Samsung K
Reply
Home Networking Expert
Home Networking Expert
rsn
Posts: 902
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

And for bridging from your description you are doing it in the right way. To double confirm when you connect your laptop to DPC direct, restart the DPC and it gets an IP address check the IP address of your laptop. If it is not 192.xx and is 2xx.xx(I believe starhub IP is in 200 range) you are in true bridge mode.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tisa
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎18-08-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

Will do it one more time tomorrow after work. Will keep you all posted. Thanks.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tisa
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎18-08-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

Can't do it and they won't allow me to login. It keeps saying its for starhub home broadband plans. It's **bleep** irritating.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tisa
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎18-08-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

If I managed to test.... What will I get from the test? It's coming to a point that its super irritating.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tisa
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎18-08-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

Yes checked my IP address and its indeed starts with 218.186.xx.xxx. So I am ok in terms of setting the dcp 3925 as a bridge modem then??
Please use plain text.
Home Networking Expert
kon_sg
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎04-06-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

Cool down man... no point flaring over small little things (yet).

 

You see doctor say fever, doctor also must see is it regular fever or dengue fever. Tell you regular fever when it's dengue fever then how? You lagi jump neh.

 

All you need to do is simply to test why your connection is not what you've subscribed. Since there's a number of equipment, the standard test is to make sure the one that is hook to Starhub, i.e. your DCP3925 is faulty. No need to be frustrated... power down (yes, switch everything off totally), then slowly, power up these in order:

 

1.) your modem cisco 3925, give it a few minutes to fully wake up

2.) connect lan cable from your computer to cisco 3925

3.) power up your computer

 

do the speedtest at utilities.starhub.com... 

 

do screenshot when it's done... since the starhub guy say do 3 times, then do 3 times to get average result... then post the screenshot (all 3) back here big big for all to see lor... during my cable days, I usually get speed higher than i subscribed for :smileytongue:

 

If you ask me, as I said above, I don't think starhub (the company) dare to cheat anyone. But if really is, maybe somebody screw up somewhere (not first time and won't be last).

 

Just maybe, your cisco modem KO liao need replacement (you bad luck lor), or maybe the way you config the router also not very right, instead of guessing what you did, maybe you also can post screenshot of your router config, both cisco & linksys

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tisa
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎18-08-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

As suggested, I have managed to get 3 screenshots for the speed test:

 

1) Speed Test 1.jpg

 

2) Speed Test 2.jpg

3) Speed Test 3.jpg

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Tisa
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎18-08-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

I cant do the local speed test for some reasons as the site says that I need to be a subscriber for maxonline cable services. I tried to log in and do the local speed test but the site wont let me do it.

 

anyway, the max I could get is50-60mbps which is considered pathetic when I subscribed to max online ultimate 100mbps.

 

As mentioned above, I have tested my ip address of my notebook and it starts with 2..... In other words, the way I set up the dcp 3925 as a bridge modem is correct. Pls correct me if I am wrong. Thanks,

Please use plain text.
Home Networking Expert
kon_sg
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎04-06-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925


Tisa wrote:

I cant do the local speed test for some reasons as the site says that I need to be a subscriber for maxonline cable services. I tried to log in and do the local speed test but the site wont let me do it.

 

anyway, the max I could get is50-60mbps which is considered pathetic when I subscribed to max online ultimate 100mbps.

 

As mentioned above, I have tested my ip address of my notebook and it starts with 2..... In other words, the way I set up the dcp 3925 as a bridge modem is correct. Pls correct me if I am wrong. Thanks,


http://utilities.starhub.com/conexon/en/UtilitiesStartFrame.jsp this one?

Please use plain text.
Home Networking Expert
kon_sg
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎04-06-2013

Re: Cable 100MBps with Cisco DCP3925

I also know of these links:

 

 

http://www.speedtest.net/ > their various hosting provider

http://www.speedtest.com.sg/speedtest.php

http://speedtest.sgix.sg/

http://speedtest.vqbn.com/

http://speedtest.singnet.com.sg/

 

But when I finally get to try this (trust me, it's really rare you get to actually use this), it reported 297Mpbs download speed... woohoo!

https://app.netrounds.com/speedtest/bbq/

 

Please use plain text.